Sun, Sep

8 cabinet ministers, spymaster sworn in

8-cabinet-ministers-swornedPresident Mohammad Ashraf Ghani on Sunday administered oath to eght ministers and the spymaster, who won confidence votes from the Wolesi Jirga last week.

On Wednesday, the lower house approved Ghani's picks for the nine key slots, including the National Directorate of Security (NDS) head.

Of the 243 lawmakers present, 154 voted for spymaster Rahmatullah Nabil. Previously, he served as acting intelligence chief.

Interior Minister Noorul Haq Ulumi bagged 131 votes, Finance Minister Eklil Hakimi 128 and Foreign Minister Salahuddin Rabbani 151.

As many as 170 ballots were cast in favour of Public Health Minister Ferozuddin Feroz, who was highest vote winner. Minister of Refugee Affairs Syed Hussain Alami Balkhi bagged 134 votes.

Minister of mines Daud Shah Saba received 146 votes. Among the 24 cabinet candidates, 18 were allowed to explain their priorities to the Wolesi Jiga and the rest were barred from speaking for having dual nationality.

On Sunday noon, Ghani administered the oath pf office to the eight successful nominees at the Presidential Palace in Kabul.

The ministers and the intelligence head vowed to protect Afghanistan’s sovereignty, territorial integrity and national unity in all their actions. They also pledged honesty in the performance of their duties.

After the swearing-in ceremony, Ghani and Chief Executive Dr. Abdullah Abdullah greeted the cabinet ministers, hoping they would do their best to serve the people of Afghanistan.

Second Vice-President Mohammad Sarwar Danish, the president’s special representative on reform and good governance Ahmad Zia Massoud and Deputy Chief Executive Mohammad Khan were also present.