Wed, Sep

Joint Committee Starts Work To Decide On Reforms Decree


The joint committee on electoral reforms decree, comprised of members of the two houses of parliament, on Tuesday officially started work, but their session ended without any results.

The Wolesi Jirga (Lower House of Parliament) secretariat Abdul Raouf Inaami said the approval of President Ashraf Ghani's legislative decree on electoral reforms will maintain the public's and the international community's trust in the Afghan parliament. "If the committee members want to gain public support, they should decide on the fate of the decree," he added. A number of MPs meanwhile said that the 10 members introduced by the Wolesi Jirga to the committee are not in favor of approving the decree. "There were differences in thoughts [in the joint committee's session] and they did not yield any results," said Saleh Mohammad Saleh MP and member of the committee. Members of the Meshrano Jirga (Upper House of Parliament) meanwhile said they have a difficult task ahead as most of the MPs are against the decree. "We will gain the trust of the people and the international community if we take a good decision on the decree," said Hasibullah Kalimzai, Senator and member of the joint committee. Meanwhile, Transparent Election Foundation of Afghanistan (TEFA) urged the two houses of parliament to put aside their differences and approve the decree. "This indicates that we are wasting our time and we will not be able to hold the elections even in the next year," said TEFA spokesperson Sughra Saadat. Qudratullah Zaki, Seddiq Ahmad Osmani, Najia Babakarkhail, Abdul Qadir Zazai, Ghoryani, Obaidullah Barikzai, Mohammad Saleh Saleh, Kubra Mustafawi, Mohammad Hashim Mahwadi and Mohammad Sarwar Osmani are the 10 members of the joint committee from the Wolesi Jirga. The selected senate members of the committee are: Ghulam Muhayuddin Munsif, Mohammad Hassan Hotak, Anarkali Hunaryar, Najiba Hussaini, Aziza Musleh, Mohammad Alam Ezedyar, Farhad Sakhi, Hasibullah Kalimzai, Mohammad Hanif Hanifi and Seddiqa Balkhi.