Mon, Sep

Ministry of Finance Awards the Best Large Taxpayers


Ministry of Finance awarded the Best Large Taxpayers in Continental Hotel today 1st May 2017.This program aims to raise the level of taxpayer compliance, promote taxpaying culture, achieve the revenue target, encourage investments and develop economic activities in the country.

H.E. Abdul Sattar Murad, Minister of Economy has praised running such programs and said: “tax collection has a significant role in revenue increment and funding economic infrastructure projects, so awarding the compliance taxpayer could increase the level of income tax. He added: “funding the national projects mostly relies on the aid of donor countries and within running such programs, the government and private sectors would be encouraged to further investment and compliance and enable us to secure funding the national projects from the internal sources”.

H.E. Shafiq Ahmad Qarizada, Deputy Minister of Revenue and Customs said: “The Ministry of Finance plans to raise the level of taxpayer compliance that is why it launched today’s program to encourage the large taxpayer who has shown more compliance than other taxpayers”.

He added: “We expect that sound competition to be created among large taxpayers in coming years to recognize them as best taxpayer and lead to development and standardized economic activities in the country”.

Mr. Khan Jan Alokozay, Vice-Chairman of Afghanistan Chamber of Commerce and Industries (ACCI) thanked running this program and asked launching such programs for Medium and Small Taxpayers Departments as well.

DG of Revenue Department and Director of Large Taxpayer has provided information to the participants about revenue increment and today’s program.

At the end, 8 large taxpayers in different sectors (Afghan Wireless Communication Company (AWCC), Kam Air Airline, Afghanistan International Bank (AIB), Saladin Security Company, Alokozay International Limited, Alokozay non-alchoholic beverage company, Automotive Service and Venco Imtiaz Construction Company (VICC) were awarded

It is worth mentioning that, Deputy Ministers, Directors of Government Institutions, representatives of people in national assembly, administrative office of the president, ambassadors. Officials of large companies, National Procurements Authority and some other have participated in this program.