Thu, Oct

Wolesi Jirga elects assistant secretary, deputy speaker


Wolesi-jirgaThe Wolesi Jirga -- or the lower house of parliament -- on Sunday elected Saleh Mohammad Saljooqi as second deputy speaker and Irfanullah Irfan as assistant secretary, an official said.

However, elections for the first deputy speaker and secretary had to be delayed because the candidates failed to get the required number of votes.
Under relevant rules, the first and second deputy speakers and secretary and deputy secretary of both houses are elected by members at the start of the new parliamentary year.

On Saturday, President Hamid Karzai inaugurated the first joint session of the parliament after a 45 days winter break. 
Speaker Abdul Rauf Ibrahimi announced Mirwais Yasini and Haji Zahir Qadir as nominees for the first deputy speaker and Saleh Mohammad Saljooqi and Niamatullah Ghafari for the second deputy.

Abdul Qadir Qalatwal and Syed Karim were in the run for secretary and Irfanullah Irfan for the assistant secretary. The house unanimously elected Irfan as assistant secretary.
Last year, Mirwais Yasini was elected as first deputy speaker, Saleh Mohammad Saljooqi as second deputy speaker and Syed Akram as secretary.