Wed, Oct

Remaining cabinet members to be named soon: Ghani



President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani on Wednesday hailed parliament’s decision to approve eight ministers-designate and the National Directorate of Security (NDS) chief, promising to introduce soon replacements for the rejected ones.

The Wolesi Jirga held an extraordinary session, granting the vote of confidence to Rahmatullah Nabil as NDS head. The house also approved Noorul Haq Ulumi, Salahuddin Rabbani and Eklil Hakimi to head interior, foreign and finance ministries.Ferozuddin Feroz, Daud Shah Saba and Syed Hussein Alami Balkhi were endorsed as public health, mines and refugee ministers. Nasir Ahmad Durrani and Faiz Mohammad Osmani also became ministers of rural rehabilitation and hajj affairs respectively.Lawmakers refused to repose confidence in 10 other cabinet choices, but the president promised to introduce their replacements soon, according to a statement from the Presidential Palace.