Sat, Oct

Zahir Qadir retains Wolesi Jirga deputy speaker slot


wolesi jirga

Zahir Qadir, former first deputy speaker of Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon (lower house of parliament) was re-elected to the position on Saturday.

Earlier, Abdul Rauf Inami, a lawmaker from Badakhshan, was elected as secretary to Wolesi Jirga and Erfanullah Erfan as deputy secretary.

First deputy speaker

 In three rounds of voting, Qadir, Mirwais Yasini, Abdul Hafiz Mansoor and Abdul Qadir Zazai, Humayoon Humayoon and Zakria Zakria raced for the first deputy speaker’s slot, but none could achieve the 50+1 threshold to win the position. On Saturday, Hamidzai Lalai and Saleh Mohammad Saljuqi nominated themselves for the position, but Lalai with 89 votes and Saljuqi with 68 votes from the 193 lawmakers present fell short of the threshold.  After consecutive failure of candidates for a position, re-election takes place between the two top vote-getters in accordance with the house internal procedures.On Saturday, Humayoon, who had obtained 99 votes and Qadir 93 in the previous round, vied for the first deputy speaker’s position which went to Qadir who collected 138 votes against his rival’s 36 votes.

Second deputy speaker

Nazir Ahmad Ahmadzai, Abdul Qayum Sajjadi, Farida Hamidi, Ahmad Behzad, Farhad Siddiqui and Akbar Stanikzai were candidates for the position of second deputy speaker in previous elections, but none was able to secure more than 50 percent of votes.
Speaker Abdul Rauf Ibrahimi said the top two candidates -- Niamatullah Ghafari with 105 votes and Haji Nazir Ahmad Ahmadzai with 89 votes-- would compete in the second round of voting on Sunday.